Email this to a friend
 
posted on January 8th 2014, at 12:34
by lunarg
Even though you've unchecked the time synchronisation checkbox in VMware Tools, synchronisation may still occur. Particularly when a certain action is performed, such as a power-off/power-on, suspend/resume, snapshot handling, etc., time synchronisation will still occur.

To complete disable time synchronisation, even during the events mentioned, you have to add additional parameters to the VMware VM configuration. There are two ways to do this.

Note that you need to have the machine powered off before you can do these changes.

Use a text editor to directly edit the .vmx-file, adding the required parameters:

tools.syncTime = "0"time.synchronize.continue = "0"time.synchronize.restore = "0"  ...

Send a link to this post to yourself or a friend.

Send to e-mail:
Your name:
Your e-mail:
Captcha:
Type the letters and numbers as shown.
/get/captcha/1508811481
Not readable? Get another.
 
Information entered is solely used for sending a one-time e-mail, and is not retained and/or passed on to a third party.