Email this to a friend
 
posted on September 27th 2018, at 10:15
by lunarg
Folder view preferences are stored separately in a hidden file called .DS_Store in each folder. If you want to reset the folder view options to the default settings, you can use Terminal to do a search for those files and remove them.

To remove them in your home folder, you can run this:

find ~ -name ".DS_Store" -delete

Note that you can also do this on network shares. Just adjust the search path accordingly.

Suppose you have a share mapped to smb://server/data, then you would type:

find /Volumes/data -name "*.DS_Store" -delete

Caution
Be very careful with this command. It will not ask for confirmation!Making a typo (like forgetting to add the -name parameter) could result in permanent  ...

Send a link to this post to yourself or a friend.

Send to e-mail:
Your name:
Your e-mail:
Captcha:
Type the letters and numbers as shown.
/get/captcha/1539815783
Not readable? Get another.
 
Information entered is solely used for sending a one-time e-mail, and is not retained and/or passed on to a third party.
 
 
 
 
« October 2018»
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
 
Links
 
Quote
« Debating Windows vs. Linux vs. Mac is pointless: they all have their merits and flaws, and it ultimately comes to down to personal preference. »
Me