Backtrack:  
 
showing posts tagged with 'macos'
 
by lunarg on September 27th 2018, at 10:15
Folder view preferences are stored separately in a hidden file called .DS_Store in each folder. If you want to reset the folder view options to the default settings, you can use Terminal to do a search for those files and remove them.

To remove them in your home folder, you can run this:

find ~ -name ".DS_Store" -delete

Note that you can also do this on network shares. Just adjust the search path accordingly.

Suppose you have a share mapped to smb://server/data, then you would type:

find /Volumes/data -name "*.DS_Store" -delete

Caution
Be very careful with this command. It will not ask for confirmation!Making a typo (like forgetting to add the -name parameter) could result in permanent  ...
 
showing posts tagged with 'macos'
 
 
« December 2018»
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
 
Links
 
Quote
« I needed a password with eight characters so I picked Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. »